Daily post · Essay · life experience

The wheel of life 

As I grow each day , my materialistic attraction lessens and I’m more to knowing myself and others . I realize , we go through a wheel of changes bringing us back almost like a kid in the old age . I see the best example in my paternal grandmother who is almost 90. She lives with us since the death of my grand father (almost 20 years) and recently I see her deteriorate both physically and mentally.

 Off late, she makes demands like a kid and cry if her demands are not met in the way she wanted .One day  we see her crying so much , saying something in between. We ask our house help what was going on and she says my grandmother is crying saying she dont have a saree to wear , and this when around 20 sarees were kept near her . She didn’t like anything and she was asking something she wore sometime after her wedding !! This resembles so much the tantrums a toddler would make when they make unrealistic demands .

Another to say , grandmother comes up with stories of death of some healthy lively people . We wonder why she said so , but she adamantly sticks to it . She keeps saying her youngest daughter in law passed away inspite of seeing her alive . Her logic says that is some other lady dressed like daughter in law . It reminds of the make up stories of my three year old .

Untimely demands are another common factor for old and young kids . My grandmother demands something or other to be eaten at midnight once everyone are asleep. I’d been through this phase for my elder kid many times !!

All these makes me realise , either today or tomorrow we all pass through similar cycle of events. When we show tolerance to our kids and irritation to old people- how fair it is ?? The realisation that we might reach the same point sooner or later is the remedy to not being irritated and angry . A self reminder that these people gave their blood and soul to raise their kids would tackle much of the issues . But when we are tired of our work life and family life – these are not easy to follow steps . Again reminding ourselves, their days are much numbered and making them happy shouldn’t bother us too much 🙂 .
In response to daily post prompt wheel.

Wheel

5 thoughts on “The wheel of life 

  1. It really is a cycle. My mom is experiencing this back home with her mother. She called me yesterday and said she had been in tears all day because of the tantrums of my elderly grandma who has been staying with her. She said it’s like having a toddler around. We had a conversation very similar to what you talk about in your post. I’ll have to show it to her! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment