Daily post · Poem

I’m grateful

I wake up to a new day 

Breathing , walking , talking , eating

I’m grateful –

For I’m alive and healthy . 

…….. 

I open my wardrobe

And stare in confusion 

What to wear –

Red or white, blue or green ?

I look at my shoes –

Heels or flats , peep toes or wedges ? 

I’m confused

Yet I’m grateful – 

For all the clothes to cover me

For all the shoes to protect my feet .

………

I walk to my favourite restaurant

Flipping the pages of menu 

Confused to choose one 

A heavy meal or a lighter snack 

A juice or a smoothie along ?

Yet I’m grateful 

For the food of my choice . 

………….

I drive my car 

All way to my home

After a days work –

As I sink to sleep 

I feel the gratitude 

To the almighty above me 

For the roof and car.

…………

I see my kids running around 

Messing the home and playing 

Giggling , crying and laughing 

I’m grateful –

For I don’t know what life is –

With no kids around .

I see my father , mother and siblings

Living happy and healthy 

I’m grateful 

For I don’t know –

How it is to be without parents.

I wake up to my partners hug 

Doing chores together 

Talking about movies  and books

I’m grateful-

To live and share with such a partner .

……..

Daily post prompt <a href=" Gratitude“>gratitude

2 thoughts on “I’m grateful

Leave a comment